Tomorrowland Concept Art: The Black Hole Ride That Never Was

Black Hole Ride

Black Hole Ride-2

From Michael at Progress City, U.S.A., who got it from a presentation by Disney Imagineer Dave Fisher in 2010:

Expecting the movie to become a big hit, WED [Walt Disney Imagineering] designed this ride-through shooting gallery based on the robots from the film. When The Black Hole flopped, the idea was adapted for another upcoming sci-fi film, TRON. When that didn’t become a hit either, the concept lay dormant until it was revived as Buzz Lightyear’s Space Ranger Spin.

I guess WED didn’t have any art to refer to, because the robots don’t look anything like the robots in the movie. It doesn’t matter. I’ll still be twice as upset every time I get on the crappy Buzz Lightyear ride that my wife always beats me at. Tron did get a piece of a ride that I loved, the PeopleMover, in 1982. The PeopleMover closed in 1995 and was eventually replaced by the short-lived Rocket Rods.

Check out Michael’s full post for many more ride concepts, including a Uranium mine attraction, with visitors using Geiger counters to locate the radioactive stuff.

(All images vie Progress City, U.S.A.)

2 Responses to “Tomorrowland Concept Art: <em>The Black Hole</em> Ride That Never Was”


  1. 1 Jason August 21, 2013 at 11:15 pm

    Funny. I was just at King’s Island yesterday, and went through Boo Blasters twice (partly to enjoy the air conditioning). Another ride-and-shoot type amusement park ride. My girlfriend and I each won once, but I swear my ghost blaster was broken when I lost…

  2. 2 2W2N August 22, 2013 at 12:15 am

    Damn gun IS broken when I lose. No doubt about it.


Leave a Reply

Goodreads

Archives

Categories

The Master Control Program has chosen you to serve your system on the Game Grid. Please enter your identity disc.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers