The Story of The Black Hole Told through the Childhood Drawings of Ryan and Ginger Orvis

black hole orvis 1

black hole orvis 2

black hole orvis 3

black hole orvis 4

black hole orvis 5

black hole orvis 6

black hole orvis 7

black hole orvis 8

black hole orvis 9

black hole orvis 10

black hole orvis 11

black hole orvis 12

black hole orvis 13

black hole orvis 14

black hole orvis 15

black hole orvis 16

black hole orvis 17

black hole orvis 18

black hole orvis 19

black hole orvis 20

black hole orvis 21

black hole orvis 22

black hole orvis 23

This might be the best thing I’ve ever found on the internet. Ryan Orvis, a musician and pop culture hound, presents these treasures from his (and our) youth on his blog, Blanked as Ordered.

Ryan says of the film and the drawings,

Like many kids, my sister and I went to see the film during its opening week. We returned from the theater in tears. I couldn’t process whether I liked the movie or not. All I knew was that I was upset, but couldn’t stop thinking about it. Eventually we stopped crying, and began the cathartic mission of drawing all the memorable scenes from the film.

I recently found, organized and scanned all the Black Hole drawings we made as kids. I’m not sure how many days we worked on them, but they were created on several different types of paper, using a combination of crayons and ink pens. Amazingly, they pretty much explain the plot of the movie, although it comes across as much more violent and action-packed than it really is.

Then, just as I’m getting all sentimental about how we actually did things like this, and why we did things like this, the drawings take on a significance I can’t even describe.

Sadly, my sister Ginger passed away a few years later, so I am unable to get her thoughts on the experience. I also am not 100% sure how many of these drawings were hers. I think the majority were mine, because even at that age I was a pretty big nerd, and it’s the sort of thing I would do.

Ryan has written about the pictures, pithily and hilariously, in three parts. Go read them. And, according to this post, he has saved all of his and Ginger’s drawings from the days when kid culture inspired this kind of passion, dedication, and attention to detail. (The resemblance of some of the depictions above to their corresponding scenes in the film is un-fucking-canny.)

All of the art posted here is, needless to say, © Ryan Orvis.

3 Responses to “The Story of <em>The Black Hole</em> Told through the Childhood Drawings of Ryan and Ginger Orvis”


  1. 1 leftylimbo March 16, 2013 at 2:37 am

    That’s just too awesome for words. As cool as it is, the news that his sister Ginger passed away a few years later is also a cold, hard reminder of how fragile and fleeting our lives are. It’s things like that that make me so glad that my parents saved so much of my childhood stuff. I’m hoping my kid will feel the same way when he gets older.

  2. 2 J February 4, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Thanks so much for this. Truly good things are rare on the internet. I did think of the drawings my older brother and I used to make of space ship battles, dungeon maps and video games that we had made up. After we would watch movies, we would translate are favorite characters from them for D&D or Marvel Super Heroes. My brother’s still alive, but we haven’t spoken in many years. I still have some of our drawings, characters and my brothers old RPG books. I miss that guy.


  1. 1 Kid Art (Circa 1980 – 1985): Dungeons & Dragons | 2 Warps to Neptune Trackback on April 27, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Leave a comment




Pages

Archives

Categories

Donate Button

Join 1,109 other subscribers