Troubador Press: Science Fiction Anthology (1974) and Tales of Fantasy (1975) Coloring Albums

SFA-1

SFA-2

SFA-3

SFA-4

SFA-5

SFA-6

SFA-7

SFA-8

SFA-9

SFA-10

San Francisco’s Troubador Press published a number of similarly-styled books throughout the ’70s, including the AD&D Coloring Album. (Thanks to Jeff Overturf for scanning and posting the entire Sci-Fi Anthology!) Mark Savee is not quite Greg Irons, but he does have his moments: the Brave New World piece is expansive and claustrophobic at the same time—very unsettling, just like the novel.

The inside back cover promotes Troubador’s other books at the time, one of which was Tales of Fantasy. I immediately recognized the cover and remembered having it. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find very many decent pics. The ones below are from Etsy.

TOF-1

TOF-4

TOF-2

TOF-3

TOF-5

The detailed summaries of ancient myths (The Odyssey, Atlantis, Sinbad) and fantasy literature (Lord of the Rings, John Carter of Mars, Conan the Barbarian) came with extraordinary illustrations by Larry Todd. The book had quite an influence on me.

I’ll have more on Troubador Press later.

6 Responses to “Troubador Press: <em>Science Fiction Anthology</em> (1974) and <em>Tales of Fantasy</em> (1975) Coloring Albums”


  1. 1 Henry R. Kujawa August 31, 2016 at 3:53 am

    Thank you so much for posting these! I ran across the existence of this by accident at another site, and then found yours via a further Google Search.

    I’ve spent nearly 2 years so far working on a MASSIVE Edgar Allan Poe blog project, attempting to assemble in one place every Poe comics adpatation I can find. Recently, I’ve begun adding galleries for stand-alone illustrations. Larry Todd’s “Maelstrom” will make a great addition to that gallery!

    http://professorhswaybackmachine.blogspot.com/2016/06/poe-1968-pt-8.html

  2. 2 Steve March 30, 2017 at 11:56 pm

    I never saw any of these Troubador Press books before. I love how, even when the images refer to the movie version, the text relates to the novel.

  3. 3 David Simmons May 21, 2017 at 6:23 pm

    I also want to thank you for posting these. I had both as a kid, along with Space WARP, Advanced Dungeons & Dragons, Monster Gallery, The Dinosaur Coloring Book and many others from Troubador.

    I am hoping to do a blog post myself about all of these, with complete scans available of uncolored pages, as soon as I have all the ones I can find.

    Many thanks for the blast of nostalgia!


  1. 1 Troubador Press: Zodiac Coloring Book (1969) | 2 Warps to Neptune Trackback on August 14, 2013 at 2:25 pm
  2. 2 The Story of Troubador Press: An Interview with Malcolm Whyte | 2 Warps to Neptune Trackback on November 25, 2013 at 2:43 pm
  3. 3 Troubador Press: Tales of Fantasy (1975) (Part One) | 2 Warps to Neptune Trackback on April 28, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Leave a comment




Pages

Archives

Categories

Donate Button

Join 1,109 other subscribers