The Women of Robotech Commercials (1985)

 

A few thoughts:

  1. No, Matchbox.
  2. Matchbox, no.
  3. Minmei is Asian, obviously, hence the name Minmei and the fact that, you know, she’s from Japan. I don’t think Matchbox got the memo.
  4. What’s with Rick’s hair? He looks like George Harrison.
  5. Rick is a slut.
  6. The song. I can’t get it out of my head. Stop. The song.
  7. “Isn’t she neat?”

I’ve become slightly obsessed with the Robotech toys, as you can tell. More later.

(Video via PetiteOzma/YouTube)

8 Responses to “The Women of Robotech Commercials (1985)”


  1. 1 Anon May 29, 2013 at 2:57 pm

    I’m guessing they made literally dozens of dollars on those dolls. So how dare you judge their marketing. I love how they laugh hysterically after they say how pretty Lisa is. I’m guessing no one bought the Dana doll because she was so boring.

  2. 2 2W2N May 29, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    Dana who?

    Rick really does look like George Harrison. It’s bothering me.

  3. 3 lithicbee May 29, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    This… this was a real thing?! Hahahaha, oh my. See how Lisa types aimlessly on a computer because keys are confusing!

  4. 4 2W2N May 29, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    That keyboard bit is hilarious. “Let’s get ready for battle!” [Girl thumps aimlessly on keyboard.]

    I just added “Isn’t she neat?” as number 8. What a great/awful line.

  5. 5 guybrarian January 17, 2015 at 3:43 am

    Point of order: Minmei’s uncle did, in fact, run a Chinese restaurant. I thought it was strange even when I was ten.

  6. 6 Chimalpahin December 14, 2015 at 3:15 am

    Why no matchbox no? I find it fascinating. Really Robotech was kind of an anomaly for the time. How many other “boy’s” shows were marketing heavily to both aisles? I think Power Rangers was the last time I knew of an action show typically marketed to boys market to girls as well, with dolls but still.

    I dunno I just found it wildly fascinating that these characters were mostly military women and Minmei, a Chinese girl who sings for the state; more or less, generally dolls didn’t have a huge variety at the time and even today still struggle with it.

  7. 7 Malcadon April 4, 2018 at 3:56 am

    1. Harmony Gold was really banking on sales of Valkyrie & Destroid toys, but there was some legal action with Hasbro and FASA, so they where stuck with the Japanese dolls.
    2. But yeah, the doll-line was rather pointless. As a kid, my sister had the Dana and Miriya 3-3/4″ action-figures, and she vary well knew that it was an action show: Not a fashion show.
    3. Lynn Minmei (Ling Ming-mei in Japan) is vary much Chinese. (Plus, “L”s are not used in Japan; typically using “R”s in their stead, and vice-versa in China.)
    4. They would have added hair-gel to spike his hair into a big-O’ anime do, but that would get really expensive and become a fire hazard. 😉
    5. Damn, Rick is a player! And Lisa is a pedo! (He was 16 and she 24 at the start of the show.)
    6. Yeah, Minmei’s singing is truly THAT awful!
    7. “Isn’t that special.”


  1. 1 Matchbox Robotech Toys: Armoured Cyclone, Spartan, and Excalibur MK VI (1985) | 2 Warps to Neptune Trackback on September 20, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Leave a comment




Pages

Archives

Categories

Donate Button

Join 1,109 other subscribers