TV Guide Article on the The Hobbit TV Movie (1977)

Hobbit 1977

Hobbit 1977-2

Will the late author’s many fans take kindly to the TV version? Producers Arthur Rankin Jr. and Jules Bass insist that purists can rest easy: they rejected half a dozen scripts before settling on one that satisfied all the experts. The production features 13 songs and the familiar voices of Orson Bean, Cyril Ritchard, John Huston and Hans Conried…

Italics mine.

Still, I have a soft spot in my heart for this one.

(Images via Cool Ass Cinema)

11 Responses to “TV Guide Article on the <em>The Hobbit</em> TV Movie (1977)”


  1. 1 Fractalbat June 12, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    Me too. And except for the color, their Smaug was wonderful.

  2. 3 Mark Spada June 13, 2014 at 1:28 am

    Imagine that: an animated children’s film that, despite any flaws, manages to be fun and entertaining while demonstrating just how bloody easy it is to remain respectful and faithful to the source material on which it is based.

  3. 4 Tom Beiter June 13, 2014 at 3:42 am

    I think the biggest surprise for me of the voice actors was Brother Theodore voicing Gollum. I bought a Rankin/Bass Bilbo Baggins poster from Scholastic Books when I was a kid. It hung on my closet door for years.

  4. 5 David June 13, 2014 at 6:11 am

    First saw this is in 1987. Got me to read the book and afterwards the Lord of the Rings which then as now is my favorite book series of all time. Loved the Japanese style animation on this and the Return of the King animated movie by the same studio. I bought the VHS of the movie which wore out because I probably watched it about 100 times.
    My friends and I never thought back then that we would ever see a live action film version of the Hobbit or the Lord of the Rings. Every year we hold a film marathon at each others houses where one night is the Lord of the Rings films back to back and a month later we get together for one night and watch the original Star Wars triology movies.
    A highlgiht was 5 years ago when I reived both animated movies on DVD.
    Great memories from the Hobbit animted movie.

    • 6 2W2N June 13, 2014 at 6:05 pm

      Very cool. I remember The Hobbit like it was yesterday, but I’m hazy on The Return of the King. I know I watched it, but the details escape me.

  5. 7 sampoerna quatrain June 13, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    SO good. This is one of my favorite animated films, and it’s overflowing with talent. I take a lot of crap from people I talk to because I think Peter Jackson is a big, fat waste of skin and has no understanding of the source material, and showing them this film shuts them up. No doubt, Tolkien probably wouldn’t have been satisfied with any adaptation of his work, but I do believe he would have been happiest with THE HOBBIT, and mortified at this current and shameless abomination.

  6. 9 Laura December 31, 2014 at 8:59 pm

    Amazing how this little cartoon from the 70’s managed to capture the gentle spirit, the fun, and the adventure, of the book, far better than nine hours of big budget tedium in 2012-14.


  1. 1 TV Guide Article on the The Hobbit TV Movie (1977) | Follow Me And Die! | TV Guide Article on the The Hobbit TV Movie (1977) Trackback on June 13, 2014 at 4:18 am

Leave a comment




Pages

Archives

Categories

Donate Button

Join 1,109 other subscribers